Thursday, August 8, 2013

Finally Some Left Lane Common Sense!

Well, the State of New Jersey is getting it right.
We've written about left lane losers here and here
New Jersey is cracking down on motorists who stay in the left lane.
Gov. Chris Christie has signed into law a bill that raises the penalties for violating the state's keep-right law from $50 and $200 to between $100 and $300.
In addition, the bill requires that a person who commits the offense to be subject to an additional $50 surcharge.
Motorists in New Jersey are required to stay in the right lane unless they are passing slower traffic.
The bill's sponsors say staying in the left lane creates a dangerous situation for motorists.
The state estimates that it will raise more than $400,000 a year in fines. Some of that money will go toward signs warning drivers to stay right.
Under the bill trucks may be driven for up to one mile in the farthest left lane when preparing to turn left or when entering or leaving the road from the left lane. The amendments also specify that “emergency conditions” include poor visibility, snow, accidents, or the presence of emergency vehicles.
More on the story here

Bravo New Jersey!!


No comments:

Post a Comment